Top 10 Movies of 2010

It’s been an up and down year for movies. There were a few that really caught our eye. See below and let us know what you think. Warning–opinion somewhat reinforced by Rotten Tomatoes–

SD

#10

Honestly, this movie pissed me off at first. Being an amateur artist, it was very frustrating to see a complete moron think he can become an artist overnight and actually succeed. [He actually did “succeed]” with the tremendous help of hundreds of hired workers who made his visions “concrete”]. I think good movies evoke emotion even if it’s anger.  One thing is for sure: No one will remember Mr. Brainwash in 10 years. Banksy rulz.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#9


Scorsese gave us a suspenseful thriller, just in time for Halloween. Disturbing and sometimes very sad, Shutter Island is a poignant exploration into the psyche of a mentally disturbed man, who is haunted by the disastrous events of WWII and longs for a family that was taken away from him. My favorite part in the movie is the conversation DiCaprio’s character holds with a prison guard while returning to the institution on the island.

Stay away from crazy blondes who ruin lives.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#8

A Prophet is a gritty look into the modern prison system of France. A young man is forced to join a gang for protection and must complete “errands” for his boss during his time off from the clink. What makes this a good movie is the realism. The emotion, dialogue, struggles, action: all feel very authentic.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#7


Set before the outbreak of WWII, The King’s Speech tells the story of a man who can barely string a conversation together without stammering. All of a sudden this man becomes responsible for verbally motivating his people to fight the Nazi regime. Geoffrey Rush and Colin Firth give outstanding and genuine performances. The film takes its time and you become more involved within the story with each minute.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#6


Ben Affleck delivers. I feel that he is very good at certain roles. Boston gangster is one of them (if not the only one). The Town was very engaging. The story pulls you in and the acting helps keep your attention. I just can’t get over the fact that a kid’s ice rink is built with stolen bank money. That’s personal community stimulus. Way to go ‘Fleck.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#5


Get Low came out of nowhere. I saw it based on some personal recommendations. It was one of the few independent films that made it to Waco. It showed me how great an actor Duvall is. At he heart of Get Low is a tortured soul who finally finds redemption in reciting truth. I love the acting, the Bill Murray, the music, and the vintage feel.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#4


I had my doubts about this. I mean, come on, a Facebook movie? But, when I saw the reviews it was getting I had to see it for myself. I wasn’t disappointed. Zuckerburg is an equally brilliant and disgusting person. Even though it may have some Hollywood fluff in there, The Social Network was very entertaining.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#3

Conveniently at #3 is Pixar’s Toy Story 3. This movie took me back to my childhood again, loving toys, acting out battles and stories, etc. Pixar is unrivaled in their movies. They deliver stunning animation paired with great stories and cinematography. No one can hold a candle to what Pixar has done in the time it has been in existence.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#2


The Coen brothers are fast becoming some of my favorite filmmakers of all time. They just get it. Everything they do is great. True Grit is no exception. Bridges, Damon and the young Steinfeld all deliver wonderful performances. The visuals, cinematic shots, dialogue, and historical references make this film shine.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

#1


Christopher Nolan knows how to make movies. Christopher Nolan knows how to write movies. Inception is smart, slick, thrilling, intense, and head spinning. It set me back when I first saw it and it’s the only movie on this list that I already own (on blu-ray mind you). If you haven’t seen this, plan on it and invite me.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

One response to “Top 10 Movies of 2010

  1. Dude!!!! I totally agree!! I rented it the other day on blu-ray and I was blown away! I was so impressed with Nolan’s ability to craft a completely unique and compelling story with such a complex plot! Great choice!!!!!! By the way, it was amazing in blu-ray 😀

Leave a Reply

